Oil Pulling for Natural Dental Health

As soon as you talk about all natural dental health nearly every article you come across brings up Dr. Weston A Price. He by in large is the father of the new holistic Functional Medicine movement. His work started in studying the dental health of tribal peoples compared to those in first world countries at the time. He noticed that the tribes with no access to a dentist, had much better teeth. Read more about that and him. 

One such practice that I have come to love, is that of Oil Pulling. This is still practiced in India today and has been recorded as early as 3000 BC.

I don’t know about you, but 5000 years of positive reviews has my vote.

So what is it?

  1. Put 1 tsp – 1 Tbs in your mouth
  2. Swish, hold, pull through the teeth for as long as you can. Shoot for 20 mins.
  3. DO NOT SWALLOW. If you feel like you need to gulp, just spit it out and start again, or call it a day.
  4. Spit into trash can, compost heap, or toilet. Do not spit into the sink. It will cause problems with your plumbing.
  5. Rinse with water, and go about your day.

Tips and Tricks

  • Use the oil that works best for you. Some oils make me gag, while some are very pleasant. Traditionally sesame seed oil was used. Now coconut oil is deemed the best because of it’s naturally whitening, and anti-fungal, anti-microbial properties. You can also try Ghee or salt free clarified butter. All are wonderful.
  • I like to brush, floss, oil pull, rinse. Keeping the oil coating on your teeth all day acts like a barrier to and food or plaque that could stick and cause bad breath after eating. It also keeps my teeth feeling cleaner longer.
  • I have to be careful where I spit, because my dog finds it tasty and that freaks me out.

What is Happening? 

The oil is soaking up bacteria, food particles, chemical and heavy metal toxins, and undigested food particles. All things that may give you a stomach ache if swallowed. The point is to get all of that out of your body, not to bring it in deeper.

All of that bacteria and gross stuff that leads to cavities, gingivitis, etc. all get soaked up by the oil and swished out. Studies show that regular mouth wash does not hold a candle to the power of oil pulling with coconut oil.

Sore Throat and Infections. 

I love to oil pull when I have some gunk in my throat. For what ever reason it sucks it out. When I am spitting out the oil, it sometimes makes me gag. Usually right when I am getting sick, or already have a little something going on in there. During those times gross stuff like bacteria cultures and viruses settling in for bronchitis, laryngitis, and other “itises” seem to get hacked out and I feel much better for the rest of the day.

2 thoughts on “Oil Pulling for Natural Dental Health

Leave a Reply

